Life Drawing Week Ten

This week was the last week of the class! It’s a shame to be finishing, but I’m hoping to get onto the next lot of lessons later in the year. The lessons have been great and I feel like I’ve really loosened up in my style, and am able to draw quicker and more precisely, as well as trying out lots of new techniques.

DSC_1115 DSC_1116

30 second quick sketches, trying to focus on the necessary parts of the figure to show the pose. Charcoal.

DSC_1118

30 minutes, red, orange and yellow conte against a dark blue paper. I’m so pleased with this piece, and really feel its in my style, I love the way the red stands out as the darker sections, and the bright highlights of the yellow.

DSC_1121

 

30 minutes, ink and watercolour. This piece is a completely new style for me. I like to work with ink and watercolour in my other work, but hadn’t tried it out with life drawing before. Firstly I started drawing out the figure neatly in thin lines of ink, but I decided to use the ink more expressively and applied it with tissue, marking out the background and darker sections. I then worked into the figure with blue watercolour, which helped the white highlighted areas to really pop out. I’m happy with this and would like to experiment more in this style.

Leave a comment