Life Drawing Week Eight

In Tuesdays life drawing lesson, we focused on quick sketches at first, to try and loosen our drawing styles up, I found this quite difficult at first as I’m used to being more detailed.

DSC_1100

 

30 second sketches, trying to get a quick feel for the figure and pose, I found this hard as I was outlining the figure which wasn’t the intention!

DSC_1106 DSC_1108

More 30 second sketches, in charcoal and conte stick.

DSC_1098

25 minutes in charcoal and conte stick. I found that although I didn’t feel I was getting it when doing the 30 second sketches, the exercise really helped when it came to doing the longer drawings, I allowed myself to be much more expressive, and I’m pleased with the result!

DSC_1104

I had a bit of spare time after the previous drawing so I did this 10 minute drawing initially in ink, and then finished in charcoal and conte. This is on a smaller scale than the longer drawings.

DSC_1096

25 minutes in charcoal and conte. This time I experimented with using a grey charcoal as a medium tone, which really helped bring the drawing to life in my eyes. I love the use of colour against the charcoals, I plan on trying this style out again next week.

Leave a comment